About East Lothian


East Lothian has over 30 villages and hamlets. East Lothian share boundaries with the City of Edinburgh, Midlothian and the Scottish Borders with a coastline that stretches over 30 miles with many harbours and golden sand beaches. 

The history of East Lothian Starts circa 970 AD prior to that date it was part of Northumbria. The Scottish Border between England moved to its present position after the battle of Battle of Carham in 1018.


Each village has its own history,with unique things to see

dating back many centuries.

About East Lothian

The Villages

Aberlady Village

Aberlady Parish Church About East Lothian
Dirleton Village Direlton Castle About East Lothian Scotland

Dirleton Village

East Saltoun

Gifford East Lothian Town Hall

Gifford Village

Fenton Tower Kingston Village  East Lothian

Kingston Village

Ormiston East Lothian

Ormiston Village

Stenton Village East Lothian Scotland

Stenton Village

Wallyford Village

Athelstaneford Village Flag Centre About East Lothian




East Fortune

East Fortune Museum of Flight About East Lothian

Fenton Barns

Glenkinchie Distillery East Lothian




Traprain Law Roman Fort East Lothian


Whitekirk Parish Church Whitekirk Village East Lothian

Whitekirk Village


Archerfield Wishing Tree About East Lothian
East Linton Preston Mill East Lothian Scotland

East Linton

Garvald Village

Golf Museum Gullane Village East Lothian

Gullane Village

Inveresk Village

Spott Village

Tyninghame Village


The Bass Rock North Berwick One of the natural wonders of the modern world with a lighthouse and ruined Castle

The white in the photo are birds nesting.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

© 2020 About East Lothian 

Bass Rock East Lothian